Working with Atelier

Development with Atelier involves both your local client machine, and a server that provides access to a database. In requiring both of these resources, it differs from typical Eclipse development. Resources are organized in projects in the local Atelier workspace. Each project uses a connection to communicate with a namespace in a database on the server. Each project in your workspace can connect with a different namespace, possibly on a different server, as the following diagram illustrates:

Relationship between Atelier and the server

You can create new projects in the following ways:

The following diagram shows these methods:

Sources of projects

You can add files to an Atelier project in the following ways:

The following diagram shows these methods:

Sources of files

Projects imported from a VCS generally also contain source files.

Source code files are created and edited on the client in Atelier, saved to the local disk, and managed with a source code control system. In order to run and debug this code, the files must be synchronized to the server. The following diagram shows these relationships:

Server and client tasks

As a convenience, the default Opens the Atelier save settings preference page Save Settings preference synchronizes and compiles files every time they are saved.

Before you can run and debug code on the server, you need to create an Eclipse launch configuration, using either the Goto the run configuration dialog Run > Run Configurations... or Goto the debug configuration dialog Run > Debug Configurations... command from the main menu bar. See Debugging an Atelier Application.

Sometimes, files are in a state where they have been added to the project and written to the client file system, but have not been synchronized to the server. Atelier indicates this status with a warning badge (Warning) on the class icon and icons for its ancestors in the hierarchy, and with warning messages in the Problems view. You can also get more information about the problem by hovering the mouse cursor over the colored area in the right margin of the editor view, as illustrated in the following image:

How to see warning details

Atelier clears these warnings as soon as you synchronize the files to the server. You can use the Synchronize or Synchronize Project command, which is available from the Atelier Explorer context menu, or the synchronize button ( synchronize icon) on the Atelier Explorer toolbar.

If source code has changed on the server since it was last synchronized with the client, this creates a version conflict between client and server. Such conflicts can result from changes to the source code made on the server, such as generation of Storage for %Persistent classes. The use of tools from the pre-Atelier development model, where code was edited, compiled and run entirely on the server, can also create version conflicts.

If such version conflicts exist, the synchronization process automatically opens the Resolve Version Conflict wizard, which you can use to examine the conflicts and decide whether to use the version from the client or from the server. If Ignore document version conflicts when saving document to server is checked on the Opens the Atelier save settings preference page Save Settings preference page, Atelier does not warn you about conflicts between the client and server versions and does not open the Resolve Version Conflict wizard.

Related concepts

Atelier Projects

Related tasks

Configuring a Server Connection
Creating an Atelier Project
Importing a Project from VCS
Creating an Atelier Class File
Creating an Atelier Routine File
Creating an Atelier Launch Configuration
Debugging an Atelier Application
Running an Atelier Application

Related reference

New Atelier Project
New Connection Configuration
New Empty Class
New Routine File
Synchronization and Conflict Resolution
Launch Configurations
Save Settings