Skip to main content

Defining SSO Rules

SSO rules connect users and user roles, so that each user has the privileges associated with those roles.

Rule Types

There are three types of SSO rules:

  • A user rule directly assigns a specific user to one or more user roles.

  • A job title rule adds user roles based on a specific job title. Any user who has the given job title is added to those user roles as well.

  • A group rule adds user roles based on Active Directory groups. Any user who belongs to the given group is added to those user roles as well.

Defining an SSO Rule

To create an SSO rule:

  1. Click the Management icon.

  2. In the Security section, click SSO Rules.

    The page then displays a table of the existing SSO rules.

  3. Click New SSO Rule in the upper right, above the table of SSO rules.

    The system displays a popup dialog box.

  4. For Rule Type, select a rule type.

  5. Specify the following details, which depend on rule type:

    • For a Username rule, specify Username. This must exactly match the name of the user to which it is intended to apply.

    • For a Job Title rule, specify Job Title. This must exactly match the job title to which it is intended to apply.

    • For a GroupID rule, specify Group. This must exactly match the Active Directory group to which it is intended to apply.

  6. In the User Roles section, select the user roles.

  7. Click Submit.

    The new SSO rule is then added to the table.

Editing an SSO Rule

To edit an SSO rule:

  1. Click the Management icon.

  2. In the Security section, click SSO Rules.

    The page then displays a table of the existing users.

  3. Click the Edit icon in the applicable row.

    The system displays a popup dialog box.

  4. Edit any value, just as when you create an SSO rule.

  5. Click Submit.

Deleting an SSO Rule

To delete an SSO rule:

  1. Click the Management icon.

  2. In the Security section, click SSO Rules.

    The page then displays a table of the existing users.

  3. Click the Delete icon in the applicable row.

    The system displays a popup dialog box to confirm this action.

  4. Click Delete.

See Also

FeedbackOpens in a new tab