Managing Ensemble
Managing Workflow Roles, Users, and Tasks
[Back] [Next]
   
Server:docs2
Instance:LATEST
User:UnknownUser
 
-
Go to:
Search:    

This chapter describes how to configure workflow users and roles. It also describes (for supervisors) how to manage workflow activity. It contains the following sections:

Introduction to the Workflow Menu
The Management Portal provides pages for configuring workflow users and roles and for monitoring workflow activity. To access them, click Ensemble, click Manage, and then click Workflow.
These pages are primarily meant for supervisors. Supervisors can assign or cancel tasks, but other actions (such as marking tasks complete) are not available here. Instead, users manage their workflow tasks within the DeepSee User Portal, which also displays Ensemble dashboards. For information, see Using the Portal Features in Using the DeepSee User Portal.
Managing Workflow Roles
The [Ensemble] > [Workflow Role Profiles] page lists workflow roles currently defined in the Ensemble namespace. To display this page:
  1. Click Ensemble, click Manage, and then click Workflow.
  2. Click Workflow Roles and then click Go.
On this page, you can do the following:
Managing Workflow Users
The [Ensemble] > [Workflow Users] page lists workflow users currently defined in the Ensemble namespace. To display this page:
  1. Click Ensemble, click Manage, and then click Workflow.
  2. Click Workflow Users and then click Go.
On this page, you can do the following:
Managing Workflow Tasks
The [Ensemble] > [Workflow Task List] page lists all tasks that have passed through the production, since the last time messages were purged for this production. To display this page:
  1. Click Ensemble, click Manage, and then click Workflow.
  2. Click Workflow Tasks and then click Go.
The following shows an example of this page:
The Status column uses the following background colors to indicate the status of the tasks:
On this page, you can do the following:
Other Details
Because tasks are messages, this page lists all tasks since the last time messages were purged for this production. For details about message purging, see Purging Management Data.”
For information on how users access their Worklist Inboxes, see Using the Portal Features in Using the DeepSee User Portal.
For reference, the columns in this table have the following meanings:
Viewing the Assigned Tasks
The [Ensemble] > [Current Workflow Worklist] page lists all assigned tasks (that is, tasks whose status is Assigned) in the production. To display this page:
  1. Click Ensemble, click Manage, and then click Workflow.
  2. Click Workflow Worklist and then click Go.
The following shows an example of this page:
The ItemId column is the internal identifier for the tasks. It consists of the numeric TaskId, the string ||, and the name of the user to which the task has been assigned.
The Age column indicates the elapsed time since the task response object was created. This time indicates the progress of the task towards its timeout. When the Age value exceeds the timeout for the task, the task is discarded. If there is no timeout, the task stays active until a user completes it, and this value simply increments.
The Assigned To column is either of the following:
For information on the other columns, see the details for the [Ensemble] > [Workflow Task List] page, in the preceding section.