Skip to main content

Editing and Managing Snapshots

Snapshots are static copies of data in InterSystems TotalView™ For Asset Management, for future review. Once you have defined snapshots, you can run them, either on a schedule or manually. This page describes how to edit and manage them; another page describes the basics of defining them.

Viewing the Snapshot Dashboard

To view the Snapshot Dashboard, click the Snapshot icon on the left.

This page enables you to see all the snapshots, either as a table or as a set of rectangular cards. For each snapshot, the page displays the following information.

  • Status—Status of the snapshot, which can be Idle, Running, or Error.

  • Snapshot Name—Name of the snapshot.

  • Snapshot Location—Name of the table in which the current version of this snapshot is stored.

Click any snapshot in order to view it or make changes.

To filter the display, use the options at the top of the page:

  • Snapshot Name—Filters the display to include only the snapshots whose names contain the given string. After typing into this field, click the Find icon.

  • Status—Filters the display to include only the snapshots with the given status.

  • Lifecycle—Filters the display to include only the snapshots that have the given lifecycle state. A snapshot can be Active (the initial state), Disabled, or Deleted.

    Only Active snapshots can be scheduled.

  • Reset —Clears all the filter options.

Editing a Snapshot

To edit a snapshot:

  1. Click the Snapshot icon on the left.

  2. Click the snapshot you want to edit.

    If there is a draft of the snapshot, you can choose to display the published version or display the draft (which is shown as a separate item as in the following example).

    list that shows a snapshot definition, followed by a draft of the same snapshot definition

  3. Click Edit.

  4. Make changes in the same way as when you create a snapshot.

    If you change the SQL query used in the snapshot, the system again tries to parse the SQL statement and determine the structure of the table it will generate and populate. If the snapshot definition now defines a different set of columns, the system automatically generates a new table that has the required columns. The older table is left alone.

  5. Click Save.

    Or click Delete Draft to cancel your edits and return to the previous snapshot definition.

Retagging a Snapshot Run

If you have run a snapshot, you can change that tag that is associated with any particular run of that snapshot. To do so:

  1. Click the Snapshot icon on the left.

  2. Click the snapshot.

  3. Click Snapshot History.

  4. In the row for the run that you want to retag, click the Retag icon.

  5. For New Tag Name, enter the new tag.

  6. Click Submit.

Also see Viewing the Run History of a Snapshot.

Disabling a Snapshot

To disable a snapshot so that it cannot be run:

  1. Click the Snapshot icon on the left.

  2. Click the snapshot you want to disable.

  3. Click Disable.

  4. Click Disable to confirm.

Deleting a Snapshot

To delete a snapshot:

  1. Click the Snapshot icon on the left.

  2. Click the snapshot you want to delete.

  3. Click Delete.

  4. Click Delete to confirm.

See Also

FeedbackOpens in a new tab